NaNoWriMo: Are you Coddling your Characters?

I am totally, Agonizingly, prolonging the pain on one my character as a way to work through the deep hurt I am currently going through. How wonderful of him to break my heart during NANOWRIMO. I couldn’t have asked for better motivation to torture his character. HA! He who laughs last laughs best! Take that sucker!

Today's Author

It’s October, and I’d hazard that approximately half of the NaNoWriMo population is currently plotting their novels, while the other half is snickering behind their hands over the fact that they aren’t doing anything at all to prep for their novels. There is a long-standing argument over whether or not plotting or pantsing is the way to go, and let’s face it, we all tend to think the other side of the coin is wrong.

But, we’re all in this together, and whether or not you plot now, or you work yourself into a frenzy plotting while you draft, you will likely have to ask yourself this question: Are you coddling your characters?

Excuse me while I duck and cover behind this couch. I can practically hear the screams of, “No! I torture my characters!”

Do you, really? Or do you just think you do? There is a big difference.

View original post 566 more words

This entry was posted in Writing.

Leave a Reply

